It’s a Good Thing

I have been told that I ought to be a good person.
But I know that I am not a very good person.
So it is a good thing that I am not saved by being a good person.

I have been told that I ought to be generous.
But I am selfish to my core.
So it is a good thing that I am not saved by being generous.

I have been told that I ought to work hard.
But I am lazy enough to consider it one of my defining characteristics.
So it is a good thing that I am not saved by working hard.

I have been told that I ought to have courage.
But I am afraid more often than not.
So it is a good thing that I am not saved by having courage.

I have been told that I ought to show kindness to strangers.
But I often find strangers to be…strange.
So it is a good thing that I am not saved by showing kindness to strangers.

I have been told that I ought to believe in myself.
But I think that is a stupid idea.
So it is a good thing that I am not saved by believing in myself.

I have been told that I ought to be an outstanding husband.
But…just ask my wife.
So it is a good thing that I am not saved by being an outstanding husband.

I have been told that I ought to be religious.
But I don’t really understand what religion is all about, and I’m not sure I’d like it if I did.
So it is a good thing that I am not saved by being religious.

I have been told that I ought to have good theology and doctrine.
But I’m pretty sure I don’t.
So it is a good thing that I am not saved by having good theology and doctrine.

I have been told that I ought to have grace.
But I have withheld grace from those most desperately in need of it.
So it is a good thing that I am saved by grace.

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “It’s a Good Thing

  1. suri says:

    Extraordinary!
    Thank you!

  2. Robin Claire says:

    Reblogged this on A Christian Overcomer and commented:
    I’m not a ‘poem’ person, but I thought this one was fabulous.

    “I have been told that I ought to be a good person. But I know that I am not a very good person. So it’s a good thing that I am not saved by being a good person…..”

  3. We’re far from perfect as not one of us are God; however, we need to “put on the mind of Christ” each and every moment in the best way we can…never saying “we can’t, we aren’t, we couldn’t, we shouldn’t, how can I?”. It’s not our trying to be perfect when our frail human weaknesses cannot accomplish this; it’s continually reaching for the mark as we willingly die to ourselves everyday hoping we just get better at being a good soldier for Messiah. It’s an uphill battle that we have to climb.

Leave a Reply

