My Real Life Experience With Demonic Possessions

I guess I’ve never really said it our loud before, but I’ve dealt with demonic possessions on and off since I was in middle school. The thing about a demonic possession is that you usually don’t realize it’s evil until it’s already in control of you. It’s scary for other people to watch. But I generally just thought, “What’s the big deal? They’re my possessions. Mind your own business.”

My first demonic possession was a gift: Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater for the Sony Playstation. If I remember correctly, my parents gave it to me and my brother as a reward for getting good grades. We started off innocently enough, playing video games like two adolescent brothers do. But eventually my brother’s interests took him elsewhere. But not me. I literally played that game until I had the outline of Playstation controls imprinted on my thumbs. At what point the possession became demonic is hard to discern. But I know that before long I was rushing through meals and homework just to get back to my game. If I had to guess, I’d say the point where it became demonic was when I began to chose my video game over time with my friends and family, and time with God. Eventually I got past the video game. I suppose the demons grew tired. But before long, Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 2 was out, and the while cycle started again.

A simple possession taking on demonic properties. Robbing me of time with my family, my friends, and my savior. I haven’t played Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater in years, and I’m sure it wouldn’t have the same effect on me that it once did. I’ve moved on to new possessions; fancier ones. Ones that have far more potential to become demonic because of their capacity to appear useful. I’m talking, of course, about my precious mobile devices.

image

Exhibit A

image

Exhibit B

Anyone who has spent time reading CS Lewis’ classic The Screwtape Letters knows that demons are crafty. They will seldom show up in a red suit with horns and a tail and say, “Boo! I’m a demon!” We wouldn’t likely be duped by such a thin disguise.

image

Probably not a demon

Instead, they show up in genuinely good and useful things. My smart phone is a good thing. It has proven time and time again to be helpful and worthwhile, not only for myself but for others. But equally as many times it has shown itself to be downright demonic; providing me an instant and ever-present escape from the more immediate and infinitely more valuable task of interacting with human beings and listening for the still small voice of the Spirit.

This became painfully evident to me this weekend as I was visiting my family. My little nephew just turned one, and has learned to crawl and stand since last I saw him. So as I’m visiting, I purposelessly yet instinctively reached for my tablet computer. I honestly don’t know why. Perhaps the demonic voices pointed out just how empty my hands feel without a piece of electronics in them. Regardless, while my nephew was showing me his newly learned feats of humanity, I spent 20 minutes trying to connect to a wi-fi network.

20 minutes.

20 minutes I could have spent enjoying the God-given gift of family, and relishing in the wonder of my amazing nephew’s newfound mobility. Certainly my possessions had become demonic.

So how do I cast out the demons? What exorcist do I call upon? Do I dash my electronics against the rocks?

I’ll need to counter the demonic possessions from two angles. First, I will need to submit my possessions to God, allowing them to be possessions of the Holy Spirit an none other. This means being consciously aware of my time, place, and setting, and then asking God, “Is this an appropriate time to utilize my possessions? Will it help people and bring You glory? Will it speak of my love (and Yours) for other people? Or will it build walls? Will it be an escape from the beautiful, if sometimes difficult, task of interacting with other human beings? Guide me, Lord.”

Secondly, I will rely on the wisdom and watchfulness of my brothers and sisters in Christ (that means you). If you catch me hiding behind a screen, a text, a call, a status update, or any of an infinite number of other potentially evil uses for my possessions, I am calling on you (and giving you the authority) to treat it for what it is: a demonic possession. Grab my phone, tablet, game controller, or whatever it is out of my hands and refuse to give it back to me until I realize just how much I don’t need it. With such brash acts, you will be ministering to my spirit.

So, probably these aren’t the type of demonic possessions you expected to be reading about. But they probably come far closer to the reality you know and live every day. I encourage you to take an inventory of your life and identify the possessions that have become demonic. When you discover what they are, submit them to the King and to the authority of your brothers and sisters in the Body of Christ. And may we find that relationship with those we have submitted to is far greater than anything the evil spirits have convinced us our possessions could possibly bring.

-Tim-

Tagged , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “My Real Life Experience With Demonic Possessions

  1. fred says:

    It’s hilarious to me the way christians so intently find a way to blame so much on demons. Rationalizing that demons are responsible for your desire to play a video game, or use your smart phone… I get it. Somewhere along the way – probably in Church – you were told that the desire to replace god, or family, or any Christian part of your life with something else was demonic. And then you were off.

    Sorry, brother, but maybe video games are just fun?

  2. bobby flake says:

    ahahhahahhh ^ exactly…. maybe video games are just fun? i understand what you are saying. but i would say it’s more of an obsession over something rather than a demonic posession.

  3. i believe this is not the possession but an addiction created by your mind and you use the idea of a devil to compensate as if to be addicted may be a sin they your faith must be untrue as stated in the bible 2 Timothy 3:2 For men will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy, 3 unloving, unforgiving, slanderers, without self-control, brutal, despisers of good, 4 traitors, headstrong, haughty, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, 5 having a form of godliness but denying its power. And from such people turn away! though answer me this god states to accept but you cant control science you cant control your mind, who you love, what you love and how you chose to live you life the only thing you chose is to follow god and for this he may be thankful.

  4. Alabama Jeffrey says:

    @ fred i could’nt of said it better.. Bahahaha.. But please answer this question! Why are you blaming this on demons? I find it funny yet very annoying christians find every way possible to blame things such as in your case an addiction on demons. You are addicted to your smart phone & you are addicted to video games. You enjoy playing video games most guys do. Dude,i’m addicted to facebook & taking pictures that does’nt mean i’m possessed. Get real..although I do feel bad for your nephew! Lol.. If you could’nt get off your phone to see & hear about the new stuff he’s learned maybe you need some help. Not help with demons because lets just be honest you are not possessed but help with your addiction to eloctronics. Tell someone to take them from you (Please don’t be like that one kid who killed his family because they took away his video games. Hopefully i did’nt just put any horrible ideas in your head) ok i’m being real here now tell someone to take your games,hide them or even keep them & your phone to of course & do without them until your need for them goes away just like you’d do for a drug habit get counceling see a therapist or physchiatrist & rid yourself of this addiction this is the only way you can get help. What you suggested doing won’t work because they will give it right back to you & for what? To update a status ect. if you really wan’t help get rid of all your eloctronics if you truely believe your demon possessed over this addiction throw them away or give them away tell them bye bye & live your life happily because its become an obsession if you wan’t it gone send it on it’s way. You are not possessed! Please believe that first.. An excorcism won’t work in your case…….. Just saying!

  5. Why are’nt my fucking comments posting!! Grrr…

  6. HM says:

    Its true every thing negative is of satan, things that keep us preoccupied from God. The devil uses many tools 1000s of ways to make us share his fate with him. You nonbelievers start going to church, and bible study. Theres also books out there that will tell you about demonic strong holds. Believe it or not theres a spiritual world around us that we cant see or hear, and knowing the enmey (satan) will help you all to understand whats going on. God is real and so is the devil. A battle verses good and evil. So come and join the good fight!

  7. HM says:

    And to back it up, read ephesians 6:12, matthew 17:14-21, acts 10:38, mark 16:9, mark 5:9, mark 1:26, mark 9:20, luke 11:24,26 , luke 9:42, thats some to show that this is real, because the word of God is true, and Jesus is alive and well, Amen.

  8. Dane Desanto says:

    Hi! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

Leave a Reply

